College is over, now what?

May 6, 2011 at 6:22 pm Leave a comment

Well, actually I have one more paper to write by next week.  I gave a fantastic presentation of my research about gap year opportunities.  I also finished the draft of the handout for Career Services, which will be fixed up soon and used.  All of the personas are done, and the survey I developed and distributed resulted in some interesting findings.  Look forward to more posts soon about all of those things.

In the mean time, I just applied for a gap year opportunity.  I am interested in devoting time to AmeriCorps and found many positions that are relevant to my field of interest, which is social media and communications.  This is great because I am a rather professional type of person and want to receive solid experience from my gap year for my future career.  I am going to briefly explain a few things about applying to an AmeriCorps program.

Before perusing the positions, register with AmeriCorps and fill out your profile and an application.  Once that is done, you can start to apply for positions.  I did this backwards so it was a mad scramble to apply to a position which has a deadline soon.  Instead of submitting your resume, cover letter, and letters of reference to the AmeriCorps system, you must go through their system to input your information and receive new recommendations.  This takes time, so plan for that.  There are thousands of positions at AmeriCorps, so it is likely you will find one that interests you, although it can be in any part of the country.  I am glad that I applied to the position, even though it is just one application and I should not put all my eggs in one basket.  Even though it is not a traditional post-graduation job, it is still competitive, as with most jobs.

After my Ethics paper is finished, I will post more personas like the Bohemian one from before, findings from my amazing survey, updates on other gap year opportunities and reviews, and eventually an edited version of my presentation.  GET EXCITED!

Entry filed under: Internal, The Basics.

Exciting things are going on A Friendly Reminder

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

May 2011
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Most Recent Posts


